Home
Office Directory
Office Overview
Foreclosure Sales
CCW
WebCheck (Background Checks)
Sex Offenders
Employment Opportunities
Jail Information
Medway
Reserves
Annual Reports
Facebook
Press Releases
Twitter
Coloring Book
Links


CCW

We are now using online scheduling for CCW appointments.  Please click on the link below to schedule your appointment.  You may apply in Wayne County if you live within this county or any county that adjoins Wayne.

Important--Please Read! 
Be sure to read
below to find out what you are required to bring to your appointment.  Also, be advised that after you finish the registration process, you must still make sure you "book" the appointment.  You will receive a message that says the appointment was confirmed.  If you do not see this, you did not successfully book your appointment.

 

Hours for CCW processing are as follows:

LIMITED AVAILABILITY UNTIL JANUARY 5TH.

Monday

10 am - 12 pm, 2 pm - 3 pm
Tuesday through Thursday 10:30 am - 12:30 pm, 1 pm - 3 pm

**We schedule appointments every 15 minutes.  If you are unable to make it to your appointment on time, please understand if we ask you to reschedule.**

CCW Procedure for Applicants

 

** Failure to provide all required items will result in having to reschedule your appointment.  Click here to find out what you are required to bring with you to your appointment.**

Cost for CCW permits are set by state law and are as follows:

*!*   FINGERPRINTING IS INCLUDED IN THE COSTS LISTED BELOW.   *!*

New CCW License Application

New license (resident of Ohio for 5+ years) - $67 
New license (resident of Ohio less than 5 years) - $91


Renewal CCW License Application

Renewal (resident of Ohio for 5+ years) - $50
Renewal (resident of Ohio less than 5 years) - $74

Temporary "Emergency" CCW License Application

Temporary Emergency (resident of Ohio for 5+ years) - $37
Temporary Emergency (resident of Ohio less than 5 years) - $61

Fees must be paid by a Cashiers Check or Money Order only, made payable to Wayne County Sheriff's Office.  We are currently looking at the feasibility to take credit or debit cards; however, currently we can only accept Cashiers Checks or Money Orders.

The Attorney General is not required to print a booklet; however, they will do so at this time.  The booklet is available online by clicking on the link below.
 

Concealed Carry Laws Booklet

Individuals who have received 12 hours of handgun safety training may apply for the CCW license at the Wayne County Justice Center, 201 W. North Street, Wooster.

      **Military personnel honorably discharged within the last six years that possess a DD Form 214 do not need further training.  (You must bring this form in place of the certificate of completion of the handgun safety training.)

New Applicants:

Applicants must have the following for their applications to be processed:

  1. A completed application.  This may be downloaded by clicking on the above link.

  2. Certificate of completion from your class. (This certificate is valid for 3 years from the date on the certificate.)

  3. 2x2 photo

  4. A cashiers check or money order for $67 or $91 (see fees above) made payable to Wayne County Sheriff's Office.  NO CASH OR CHECKS ACCEPTED!

  5. If you bring a self-addressed and stamped envelope, we will mail your permit to you and save you making another trip to the Justice Center to pick up your permit.

Renewal:

Applicants must have the following for their applications to be processed:

           *Permits may be renewed no sooner than 90 days before their expiration date.   There will be no exceptions.*

  1. A completed application.  This may be downloaded by clicking on the above link. 

  2. Certificate of completion from your class. *An expired license is evidence of a competency certification.

  3. If applying for the first time in Wayne County, a 2x2 photo is needed. (If you have already applied with us, your photo is on file and you do not need to bring another.)

  4. A cashiers check or money order for $50 or $74 (see fees above) made payable to Wayne County Sheriff's Office.  NO CASH OR CHECKS ACCEPTED!

  5. If you bring a self-addressed and stamped envelope, we will mail your permit to you and save you making another trip to the Justice Center to pick up your permit.

DO NOT bring any firearms with you when you apply!

If you are renewing your license, you are still required to complete an application.  See the complete list of requirements above!


For further information please call 330-287-5750 or email by clicking here.

A Summary of the Law:

The Sheriff's Office will coordinate all background checks and issuances of CCW permits for private citizens in their respective counties.

     Firearms will not be permitted in school safety zones, courtroom, structure where courtroom is located, police station, sheriff's office, state highway patrol station, bureau of criminal identification and investigation, state correctional institute, jail, workhouse, other detention facility, airport passenger terminal, premises of any public or private college/university or institute of higher education, church/synagogue/mosque or other place of worship unless the handgun is in a locked motor vehicle or the licensee is in the immediate process of placing the handgun in a locked motor vehicle. 

     Any retired peace officer, person, federal law enforcement officer, corrections officer, active/reserve member of the armed forces who has retired within six years and had successfully completed a basic firearms training program is potentially eligible for a CCW permit.  

     A CCW permit shall be issued by a Sheriff's Office within 45 days after all proper paperwork and training is completed. 

     License is valid for 5 years. There is no renewal-training requirement to obtain an additional five-year CCW license.  

     There is a $15.00 replacement fee for any lost CCW license permit.  

     The training requirement must consist of a minimum of 12 hours of both classroom and range instruction to include the following:  

1.      Ability to name, explain and demonstrate the rules for safe handling of a handgun.  

2.      The ability to demonstrate and explain how to handle ammunition in a safe manner. 

3.      The ability to demonstrate the knowledge, skills and aptitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner.  

4.      Range Time, live fire training and gun handling training.  

5.      Pass a competency examination that shall include a written section on the ability to name and explain the rules for the safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition.  

6.      Pass a physical demonstration of competence in the use of a handgun and in the rules for safe handling and storage of a handgun and a physical demonstration of the aptitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner.  

Persons Not Eligible to Obtain a License to Carry a Concealed Weapon 

The sheriff cannot grant a license to carry a concealed firearm to any of the following persons.

1.      A person under 21 years of age; 

2.      A person who is a fugitive from justice;  

3.      A person against whom proceedings are pending for any felony, any misdemeanor that is an offense of violence, or the offense of falsification of a concealed firearm license or possessing a revoked concealed firearm license (see "New offenses of falsification of a concealed firearm license and possessing a revoked concealed firearm license" below);  

4.      A person who has been convicted of a felony of violence or has been adjudicated a delinquent child for committing an act that would be felony of violence if committed by an adult, if the person has not been relieved from disability to have a weapon;  

5.      A person who has been convicted or pleaded guilty to an offense involving the trafficking in any drug of abuse or has been adjudicated a delinquent child for committing an act that would be an offense involving the trafficking in any drug of abuse if committed by an adult;  

6.      A person who is drug dependent, in danger of drug dependence, or a chronic alcoholic;

7.      A person who is under adjudication of mental competence.

Wayne County Sheriff's Office, 201 W. North Street,  Wooster Ohio 44691
All Rights Reserved